Shortlist for BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012 announced!

HomeSports CoverageShortlist for BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012 announced!
Shortlist for BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012 announced!

The BBC have tonight revealed the 12 sportspeople who make up the shortlist for Sports Personality of the Year 2012.

The shortlist of 12 contenders was put together by an expert panel of sports specialists.

The shortlist, in alphabetical order, is:

Nicola Adams, Ben Ainslie, Jessica Ennis, Mo Farah, Katherine Grainger, Sir Chris Hoy, Rory McIIroy, Andy Murray, Ellie Simmonds, Sarah Storey, David Weir and Bradley Wiggins.

The 12 contenders will now compete for the public vote on the night of the live show, which is presented by Sue Barker, Gary Lineker and Clare Balding on BBC One, Sunday 16 December, 7.30pm.

In addition to the main award of Sports Personality of the Year there will also be awards for:

Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Overseas Sports Personality of the Year, Young Sports Personality of the Year, Lifetime Achievement, Helen Rollason Award, and Sports Unsung Hero

Voting criteria on all the Awards and further information can be found on the BBC SPOTY website.

[poll id=82/]

Updated on Monday 26 November 2012 by @TVNewsroom
BBC Two Eng (eng) MOTD Live FA Cup 1st Round 11-07 19-55-12

The 2019/20 FA Cup final takes place this afternoon as Arsenal face Chelsea at Wembley Stadium. The Gunners recorded a 2-0 victory over holders Manchester City in the semi-finals thanks to a brace by Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, and Chelsea produced an… Read more

Snooker on Eurosport

The 2020 World Snooker Championship will begin this weekend with the final taking place on 15-16 August 2020. The tournament will be held at the Crucible Theatre in Sheffield and shown live on the BBC and Eurosport. The championship was… Read more

The FA Cup

An audience of 7.3 million watched Chelsea’s 3-1 FA Cup semi-final win over Manchester United on the BBC. The peak audience across the BBC’s platforms saw the Blues end United’s 19-match unbeaten run. Frank Lampard’s Chelsea will now face London… Read more