RTS Television Journalism Awards 2022 – The Results

RTS Awards

The RTS Television Journalism Awards 2022 will take place later today.

Channel 4’s Cathy Newman will host the event at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London, where ITV leads the way with 16 nominations across the 19 categories, closely followed by the BBC with 14 and Sky News with 11.

Both BBC News and Sky News, along with Al Jazeera English, are in the running for the News Channel of the Year award, with Sky News’ Nick Martin nominated for Specialist Journalist of Year, alongside Victoria Macdonald for Channel 4 News and Daniel Hewitt for ITV News.

This page will be updated throughout the evening as the results are announced:

Network Presenter of the Year

Krishnan Guru-Murthy of Channel 4 News. Described by judges as “one of the outstanding presenters of his generation”

News Channel of the Year

Sky News for a fifth consecutive year.

Scoop of the Year

Storming of the Capitol – ITV News. The Judges said it is “impossible to overstate the remarkable nature of the winning scoop” and called it a “genuinely historic event”

Nations and Regions News

Children in Crisis: Are we failing young minds? – ITV News Central.

Nations and Regions Presenter of the Year

Kathryn Samson – Scotland Today & STV News at Six. Judges praised Kathryn’s “real depth, empathy when needed, passion and humour”

Current Affairs International

The Missing Children (Exposure) – True Vision/Nevision.

Nations and Regions Current Affairs

Disclosure – Desperately Seeking Asylum – BBC Scotland. Judges called this “a masterclass in reporting, journalistic rigour & a fine example of how persistence pays off”

Current Affairs Home

The Men Who Sell Football – Al Jazeera Investigations.

Breaking News

Storming of the Capitol – ITV News at Ten. Judges praised the “brave reporting, its high-quality journalism under pressure and its sheer daring”

Camera Operator of the Year

Dean Massey – Sky News.

News Technology

Climate Live – Sky News.

Digital Award

All Hail the Lockdown – Al Jazeera English.

Young Talent of the Year

Noel Phillips – Good Morning Britain. Judges admired Noel’s ability to work “more of less single-handed in the midst of a major news story” and “coolly delivering a succession of rolling lives and interviews”

News Coverage International

Storming of the Capitol – ITV News.

News Coverage Home

The Cost of Covid – BBC News.

Network Daily News Programme of the Year

ITV News at Ten. ITN.

Network Interview of the Year

Dominic Cummings – The Interview – BBC News. Described by judges as a “fantastic piece of theatre” and a “spellbinding example of revenge served up cold” which was “forensically conducted”

Specialist Journalist of the Year

Daniel Hewitt – ITV News.

Network Television Journalist of the Year

Robert Moore – ITV News.

RTS Special Award

This year’s RTS Special Award goes to the Afghan Journalists, whom “all major global news organisations who have reported the Afghan story on and off for four decades depend on for support”

Outstanding Contribution Award

Samir Shah CBE wins the Outstanding Contribution Award for “shaking up conventional thinking and challenging established views”

Posted by Johnnie Larkin on Wednesday 23 February 2022
RTS Awards

The RTS Television Journalism Awards 2024 will take place on 28th February 2024. The event will be hosted by Good

RTS Awards

The RTS Television Journalism Awards 2023 will take place tonight. The ceremony will be presented by 5 News presenter Dan

RTS Awards

The nominations for the RTS Television Journalism Awards 2023 have been announced. The awards ceremony will take place on 1st