RTS Television Journalism Awards 2011/2012: The Results

RTS Television Journalism Awards 2011/2012: The Results

The Royal Television Society Television Journalism Awards 2011/2012 are taking place tonight..(Wednesday 20 February 2013)

The Awards Ceremony, hosted by Sky News presenter Jeremy Thompson, is being held at the London Hilton, Park Lane, London.

List of nominees

We’ll be posting updates and results throughout the evening as the awards are handed out.

And Finally, Richard Tait CBE receives the RTS Television Journalism Awards 2011/2012 Lifetime Achievement Award. The whole room on its feet for Richard Tait CBE #RTSTVJ pic.twitter.com/QfMVe8skuV — Royal Television Society (@RTS_media) February 20, 2013

The Judges’ Award for 2011/2012 goes to Susannah Schofield for her work with the John Schofield Trust. The Trust was set up by the friends and family of the journalist John Schofield who was killed whilst working in Croatia on… Read more

..And the awards just keep coming for Channel 4 News… Jon Snow has been named RTS National Presenter of the Year 2011/2012 beating Sky’s Jeremy Thompson and BBC’s Jon Sopel. Did I mention Jon Snow won presenter of the year?… Read more

Massive Congratulations to @alextomo for winning Journalist of the Year at #RTSTVJ. Well deserved! — Jamal Osman (@JamalMOsman) February 20, 2013 And @alextomo wins rts journalist of the year #c4news pic.twitter.com/A1sTkuswY1 — Krishnan Guru-Murthy (@krishgm) February 20, 2013

Specialist Journalist of the Year goes to the BBC’s Middle East Editor Jeremy Bowen. @BowenBBC many congrats on rts! Well done. — Kevin Bakhurst (@kevinbakhurst) February 20, 2013

CNN International has been named News Channel of the Year 2011/2012.. Congrats to CNN for their success at RTS awards. #rtsawards #rtstvj — alan grady (@alanalexgrady) February 20, 2013 Thoroughly well deserved team CNN for winning Newschannel of the Year… Read more

The RTS Daily News Programme of the Year 2011/2012 goes to…. Channel 4 News. Are you all up on stage @Channel4News? pic.twitter.com/NbdsoXgaIw — Royal Television Society (@RTS_media) February 20, 2013 #RTSAwards More people on stage from C4News than usually watch…… Read more

The Independent Award goes to ITN for Channel 4 News for Horror of Homs. Well done @ManiJournalist and @millerC4 for retaining the Indy Award and keeping within the @Channel4News family. #RTSTVJ. — Jamal Osman (@JamalMOsman) February 20, 2013

BBC’s Darren “DC” Conway has won the RTS Camera Operator of the Year award for the 4th time. Thrilled for our friend @DCInFocus, winner #RTS camera operator for work with @BBCiPannell in #Syria — Jon Williams (@WilliamsJon) February 20, 2013

ITN for Channel 4 News has won the Innovative News award for No Go Britain. Sky News’ 50 States: 50 Voices and BBC’s The Olympic Torch Relay were also nominated for this award. Particularly proud of @annadoble and the whole… Read more

The News Coverage (Home) award goes to ITN for ITV News’ coverage of the Jimmy Savile scandal. So proud our Savile coverage won #RTS home news coverage. Tribute to all Savile victims who spoke to us. pic.twitter.com/vr6J7pdLpF — lucy manning… Read more

The BBC has won the International News Coverage award for their coverage of Syria. Reuters and CNNi were also nominated for this award BBC Foreign Editor Jon Williams praises Helen Boaden and outgoing Stephen Mitchell in his #rts speech —… Read more

The RTS Regional Presenter of the Year 2011/2012 is BBC Look East’s Stewart White. Lucy Meacock of Granada Reports and Donna Traynor of BBC Newsline were also nominated for this award. Well done to Stewart White for winning RTS award… Read more

The RTS Award for Nations and Regions News Programme goes to London Tonight. Proud to announce that @ITVLondon has just won an RTS Award. Congratulations to all the team! pic.twitter.com/vUlDKDrbZk — Rags Martel (@RagsMartel) February 20, 2013 Great news that… Read more

BBC Scotland has won the award for ‘Nations and Regions Current Affairs and News Event’ for BBC Scotland Investigates: Rangers: The Men Who Sold The Jerseys. Hillsborough – The Truth At Last, ITV Granada and Spotlight: Sean Quinn’s Missing Millions,… Read more

Ciaran Jenkins of Channel 4 News has been named RTS Young Journalist of the Year. Mark Lowen of BBC News and Sky’s Political correspondent Sophy Ridge were also nominated for the award. Lovely moment at the #RTSTVJ awards – Ciaran… Read more

And we're off! RTS Television Journalism Awards 2011/2012 #RTSTVJ — Royal Television Society (@RTS_media) February 20, 2013 Somber start to RTS Journalism awards. Seemingly endless list of journalists and crew who lost their lives reporting conflict. #RTSAwards — Graeme Thompson… Read more

#rtsawards about to kick off pic.twitter.com/ojZU2Vrc — Rob Wood (@robwood65) February 20, 2013

It's the #RTSAwards tonight – tv journo oscars. Good luck to all. V excited by excellent choice for special judges award, but lips sealed. — Jonathan Munro (@jonathancmunro) February 20, 2013

Updated on Wednesday 20 February 2013 by TV Newsroom in