RTS Nominations 2010

HomeNewsRTS Nominations 2010
Posted by TV Newsroom on Wednesday 3 February 2010

Here’s a full list of Nominations for this years RTS Television Journalism Awards for 2008/2009.

Presenter of the Year
David Dimbleby – BBC
Julie Etchingham – ITV News ITN for ITV News
Krishnan Guru-Murthy – Channel 4 News ITN for Channel 4 News

Scoop of the Year
Release of the Lockerbie Bomber – BBC Scotland
Sir Fred Goodwin’s Pension – BBC News for BBC One
Vanessa George – BBC South West & BBC News

Specialist Journalist
Jason Farrell – Five News Sky News Production for Five News
Joey Jones – Sky News
Paul Kenyon – Panorama BBC Current Affairs for BBC One

Television Journalist of the Year
Alex Crawford – Sky News
Ian Pannell – BBC News BBC News for BBC
Angus Walker – ITV News ITN for ITV News

The Independent Award
Mehran Bozorgnia – Afghan Life Crumbles Despite Foreign Aid Channel 4 News
Jamal Osman – Somalia: UN World Food Programme: Theft and Corruption –
SMI Production for Channel 4 News
Stephen Grey ? Dispatches: Afghanistan – Mission Impossible? –
Blakeway Productions for Channel 4

Young Journalist of the Year
Rohit Kachroo – ITV News ITN for ITV News
Tamanna Rahman – Panorama BBC Current Affairs for BBC One
Tom Rayner – Sky News

Camera Operator of the Year
Dai Baker – Channel 4 News ITN for Channel 4 News
Raul Gallego Abellan – Associated Press Television News APTN Global Video Wire
Fred Scott- BBC News BBC News for BBC

Current Affairs – Home
Panorama: What Happened to Baby P? BBC Current Affairs for BBC One
Stockwell – ITV Studios for ITV1
Dispatches: Rape and the City Wall to Wall – Channel 4

Current Affairs – International
Dispatches: Pakistan’s Taliban Generation October Films – Channel 4
This World: Gypsy Child Thieves BBC Current Affairs – BBC Two
Dispatches: Terror in Mumbai Quicksilver Media – Channel 4

Nations and Regions Current Affairs
Inside Out South West – Vanessa George BBC South West
BBC Scotland Investigates – Inside Scotland’s Terror Cell – BBC Scotland
Spotlight – Stem Cell Tourists BBC Northern Ireland

Nations and Regions News Coverage
Meridian Tonight (South) – Justice for Hannah ITV Meridian
The West Country Tonight – Remembering Harry ITV West
UTV Live Tonight – The Ryan Report – UTV

News Channel of the Year
Al Jazeera English
CNN International
Sky News

News Coverage – Home
G20 Policing ITN for Channel 4 News
Gurkha Rights BBC News for BBC
Threats and Murders BBC Newsline for BBC Northern Ireland

News Coverage – International
Pakistan: Terror’s Frontline – Sky News
Operation Panther’s Claw – ITN for ITV News
Iranian Election – BBC News for BBC

News Programme of the Year
BBC News at Ten – BBC News for BBC One
Channel 4 News (19:00 Edition) – ITN for Channel 4 News
ITV News at Ten – ITN for ITV News

The winner of The Judges? Award, Lifetime Achievement Award and Innovative News award will be announced at the ceremony.

The awards will be presented by Sophie Raworth on Wednesday 24th February 2010.

Posted in
BBC Newsnight to be cut back; The One moves to Salford; Breakfast extended

The BBC today announced a new round of budget cuts to its news division. BBC Newsnight will be cut by ten minutes and will share resources and reporters with BBC News. It will no longer have any dedicated Newsnight reporters....

ITV weather presenter Ross Hutchinson donates kidney to dad

ITV Tyne Tees and Border weather presenter Ross Hutchinson is recovering in hospital after donating a kidney to his dad. Ross underwent the operation in Newcastle on Thursday 17 November. His dad, Robin Hutchinson, who was suffering from kidney failure...

Esther McVey leaves GB News with immediate effect

GB News presenter Esther McVey has announced her resignation from the channel with immediate effect. The MP for Tatton was yesterday given a Cabinet role in yesterday’s reshuffle. As a result, Esther is unable to carry out presenting duties because...