BBC announces election debates and Question Time special

Posted on Sunday 2nd June 2024 by Johnnie Larkin
BBC General Election 2024 Logo

The BBC will host two leaders debates and a Question Time special in the lead-up to the general election 2024.

The first will take place on Friday 7th June in London as Mishal Husain hosts a debate between leading figures from the seven biggest political parties in Great Britain. This will be broadcast from 7.30pm-9pm.

Taking part in the debate is: Conservative Party: Penny Mordaunt, Labour Party: Angela Rayner, Scottish National Party: Stephen Flynn, Liberal Democrats: Daisy Cooper, Green Party: Carla Denyer, Reform Party: Nigel Farage, and Plaid Cymru: Rhun ap Iorwerth.

On Tuesday 20th June in York, Fiona Bruce will host a Question Time Leaders’ Special with the leaders of the four biggest political parties in Great Britain, broadcast from 8pm-10pm.

Sophie Raworth will host a head-to-head debate between Rishi Sunak and Sir Keir Starmer in Nottingham on Wednesday 26th June.

This is set to be the last TV debate of the election campaign, as people prepare to cast their votes the following week. It will be broadcast from 9pm-10pm.

And, Nick Robinson has invited each of the leaders of the seven biggest political parties in Great Britain to be interviewed for Panorama specials across the next four weeks.

All programmes will air on BBC One, BBC News and stream live on the BBC iPlayer.

Jonathan Munro, Deputy CEO of BBC News, said: “TV debates have become a key part of elections in the UK, giving voters the chance to hear leaders and senior politicians debate policies and ideas directly with each other, which rarely happens on the campaign trail.

“The BBC brings people together. Providing a shared space for people to debate and discuss is a vital part of our mission, so I’m delighted we’re holding this series of debates and election specials, hosted by such talented presenters.”

The general election will take place on Thursday 4th July 2024.