RTS Television Journalism Awards 2020: The Results

HomeInternationalRTS Television Journalism Awards 2020: The Results
RTS Television Journalism Awards 2020: The Results
Posted by TV Newsroom on Wednesday 26 February 2020

The 2020 RTS Television Journalism Awards will take place tonight at the London Hilton on Park Lane.

The ceremony, hosted by Sky News presenter Anna Botting, seek to recognise creative and excellent journalism by organisations whose broadcasts are transmitted on a UK-based platform, or who create online video content from a UK production base.

The awards are to be handed out around 9pm this evening. The page will be updated throughout the night.

The first award of the night goes to Emily Maitlis, who takes home the Network Presenter of the Year award.

Sky News takes home the award for News Channel of the Year for the third consecutive year!

The Scoop of the Year award goes to BBC Newsnight for The Prince Andrew Interview, described by RTS judges as a “world exclusive that was making headlines even before it was broadcast”

The award for Nations and Regions News goes to BBC South East for the Shoreham Special programme, that “skillfully captured the psychological and emotional effects of the worst tragedy of its kind in more than 60 years.”

BBC London News Riz Lateef has won the Nations and Regions Presenter of the Year award!

The judges enjoyed “the flexibility, sparkle and thought that had evidently gone into every piece they were doing and the authority that they conveyed.”

The award for Current Affairs – International goes to Channel 4 News and ITN Productions for their “outstanding” documentary ‘For Sama’, which judges said showed “breathtaking courage, stamina and determination”

BBC Scotland are the winners of the Nations and Regions Current Affairs award for Disclosure: Who Killed Emma? A programme that the judges found to be “both electrifying and chilling.”

The Current Affairs – Home award goes to BBC Spotlight on The Troubles: A Secret History, which was described by judges as wonderful demonstration of “evocative film making”

The award for Camera Operator of the Year goes to BBC’s Wang Xiqing, who showed “outstanding film-making techniques, despite on-going and real threats to personal security.”

The News Technology award goes to Sky News and AP’s First Lives from the Deep for an “innovative step-change in broadcast technology” and the “new insights and perspectives on the damage being done to our seas”

Sky News has also won the first ever RTS Digital Award. ‘Why are transgender people self-medicating?’ for Snapchat. The judges praised its “revelatory journalism told through powerful case studies.”

Another for Sky. Reporter Martha Kelner has won this year’s Young Talent award winner.

Judges praised Martha for bringing “fresh perspectives to sport” which she pursued with “unusual skill and energy.”

The News Coverage – International award goes to the team behind BBC News at Ten’s coverage of The Missing Muslims of Xinjiang for their “great story-telling and global impact.”

Another win for BBC News. The News Coverage – Home award goes to the team behind The Death of Molly Russell for showing “creativity, excellent scriptwriting and innovation.”

The Breaking News award goes to CNNi for Hong Kong Protesters Storm Legislative Council, which judges praised for its “brilliant live reporting combined with exemplary use of technology.”

BBC Newsnight wins the Daily News Programme of the Year award.

Delivering stories with “consistent rigour and originality as well as making headlines with a scoop.”

The award for Interview of the Year goes to BBC Newsnight for The Prince Andrew Interview.

Judges commended its “forensic” questioning and “fine journalistic skill which had a huge impact.”

Rohit Kachroo from ITV News has won the award for Specialist Journalist of the Year.

Television Journalist of the Year award goes to Nima Elbagir from CNNi for her “unmatched range of investigation, eye-witness reporting and courage.”

This year’s Judges’ Award goes to the Political Teams at 5 News, BBC News, Channel 4 News, ITV News and Sky News for their “important role as guardians of democracy.”

And the final award of the night goes to… Christiane Amanpour, winner of the Outstanding Contribution Award, for her contribution to broadcast journalism and for being “a committed campaigner for media freedom and the safety of journalists.”

BBC Newsnight to be cut back; The One moves to Salford; Breakfast extended

The BBC today announced a new round of budget cuts to its news division. BBC Newsnight will be cut by ten minutes and will share resources and reporters with BBC News. It will no longer have any dedicated Newsnight reporters....

ITV weather presenter Ross Hutchinson donates kidney to dad

ITV Tyne Tees and Border weather presenter Ross Hutchinson is recovering in hospital after donating a kidney to his dad. Ross underwent the operation in Newcastle on Thursday 17 November. His dad, Robin Hutchinson, who was suffering from kidney failure...

Esther McVey leaves GB News with immediate effect

GB News presenter Esther McVey has announced her resignation from the channel with immediate effect. The MP for Tatton was yesterday given a Cabinet role in yesterday’s reshuffle. As a result, Esther is unable to carry out presenting duties because...