New Year on Sky News

Discussions on news networks: BBC News, ITV News, Channel 4 News, 5 News and Sky News
Post Reply
Harry Hayfield
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:52 pm

Post by Harry Hayfield » Sun Dec 12, 2004 12:15 am

As well as asking the question "Which midnight would you most like to see on Sky News Active on New Year's Eve?", what other New Year Eve events would you like to see what might we see?

Mr Byrne
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 11:29 am

Post by Mr Byrne » Sun Dec 12, 2004 12:51 am

I'd like toi see New year from dublin, so maybe I could see myself on the TV, but you didn't have Dublin on the drop down menu.

tippguy
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 7:34 pm

Post by tippguy » Sun Dec 12, 2004 2:36 pm

degginetely dublin but since you dont have it there rio!

tippguy
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 7:34 pm

Post by tippguy » Sun Dec 12, 2004 3:06 pm

**deffinetely

rob237
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 5:33 pm

Post by rob237 » Mon Dec 13, 2004 9:49 am

tippguy+Dec 11 2004, 10:58 PM(tippguy @ Dec 11 2004, 10:58 PM)

**deffinetely





Have a third try.................

MelbourneTV
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2004 1:17 am

Post by MelbourneTV » Mon Dec 13, 2004 2:39 pm

They'll show Sydney, Tokyo or Hong Kong, SIngapore, India, Middle East, Moscow, highlights from Paris, Berlin, Madrid possibly, London & Glasgow of course, New York, LA. (SHOWN LIVE)

wolverine
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 10:23 am

Post by wolverine » Mon Dec 13, 2004 6:14 pm

Shown on Sky News UK simultaneously? That would be cool!

sir drinks alot
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 4:30 am

Post by sir drinks alot » Mon Dec 13, 2004 6:49 pm

me thinks thay will cover the same old Places.thay do every year

Abby
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 12:39 pm

Post by Abby » Mon Dec 13, 2004 10:08 pm

I doubt if they will show the Middle East, unless Israel. The ME is Islamic and follows the Hegira not Gregorian calendar, so the New Year (as Christmas) is not celebrated in those countries.

daved2424
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:05 pm

Post by daved2424 » Sat Dec 18, 2004 8:53 am

Well to get an idea of how many places they are likely to visit, you can use what the studio is capable of. For example, the Sky News studio is only capable of having two-way satellite links with six places at once, without using another studio as a hub. If they do frequent crosses to the same places then there are less links they can make because it takes time to establish comms. But then they will probably go to different places at set times, instead of when something 'happens' so you don't have to sit on the same link. You can get it up, do a cross, take it down, do another one.

Harry Hayfield
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:52 pm

Post by Harry Hayfield » Sat Dec 18, 2004 10:29 am

daved2424+Dec 17 2004, 04:34 PM(daved2424 @ Dec 17 2004, 04:34 PM)

Well to get an idea of how many places they are likely to visit, you can use what the studio is capable of. For example, the Sky News studio is only capable of having two-way satellite links with six places at once, without using another studio as a hub. If they do frequent crosses to the same places then there are less links they can make because it takes time to establish comms. But then they will probably go to different places at set times, instead of when something 'happens' so you don't have to sit on the same link. You can get it up, do a cross, take it down, do another one.





Is that how Sky News Active works then? As I can remember on New Year's Eve 2002, they had 4 cameras with live shots at the same time (11.00 - 11.15pm GMT)

daved2424
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:05 pm

Post by daved2424 » Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:15 pm

In a way, but not quite. All circuits coming into Sky come in through a master control room. Once they are available here, they can be made instantly available in the studio, but only six at a time, the same with News Active. The difference lies when two-way comms are required, that is to say there's a reporter there to talk to. If it's just audio and video these can be brought up and taken down instantly. If 2W comms are required, sound need time to establish this. News Active obviously doesn't need 2W comms, and in News it can be either. I hope that makes sense.

Neil in Budapest
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 11:35 am

Post by Neil in Budapest » Thu Dec 23, 2004 8:51 pm

.



I'll be in Kazakhstan



.

Mr Byrne
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 11:29 am

Post by Mr Byrne » Sat Dec 25, 2004 2:44 pm

I voted for midnight in Baghdad, Their capabilities for a firework display are second to none.... maybe second to Limerick (Stab) City!!! he he he he.

hamishnewhouse
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 8:22 pm

Post by hamishnewhouse » Tue Jan 04, 2005 7:23 pm

I did not see New Year on Sky News, anybody know what was shown, or did events in Asia rather divert Sky's attention away from the celebrations, here in the UK?

Harry Hayfield
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:52 pm

Post by Harry Hayfield » Wed Jan 05, 2005 1:17 am

hamishnewhouse+Jan 4 2005, 04:02 PM(hamishnewhouse @ Jan 4 2005, 04:02 PM)

I did not see New Year on Sky News, anybody know what was shown, or did events in Asia rather divert Sky's attention away from the celebrations, here in the UK?





That is precisely what happened, and I was most upset by it. Having had nothing but Asian Tidal Wave Disaster since Boxing Day, I really felt I needed cheering up and so put in my EPG Sky News at 1.00pm (Sydney), 3.00pm (Tokyo), 9.00pm (Moscow), 11.00pm (Berlin) and midnight (London) and guess what I got?



1.00pm Asian Tidal Wave Disaster

3.00pm Asian Tidal Wave Disaster

9.00pm Asian Tidal Wave Disaster



It got so predictable after that, that I got rid of all my Sky News EPG listings and watched EuroNews (as they seemed to be the only channel even showing the New Year). Roll on the election please and let's have something different for a change

Newsrat
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 9:55 am

Post by Newsrat » Wed Jan 05, 2005 1:53 am

Midnight & Sunrise with Simon McCoy, B) . in that order would be better :rolleyes: :

Post Reply