The British Comedy Awards 2012, Tonight on Channel 4

The British Comedy Awards 2012, Tonight on Channel 4
Updated on Wednesday 12 December 2012 by @TVNewsroom

Jonathan Ross will hosts this year’s British Comedy Awards LIVE on Channel 4 this evening.

Before a room of comedic greats, and with help from some A-List guests, Jonathan will reveal the winners. And the bickering will finally stop as Britain will vote to decide who the UK’s funniest star is and crown their 2012 King or Queen of Comedy.

Last year Twenty Twelve won Best Sitcom, and Best Comedy Panel Show went to Shooting Stars. Darren Boyd and Miranda Hart were recognised for their small-screen performances, and Lee Evans received the Channel 4 Award for Special Contribution to Comedy, but who will take home the coveted prizes tonight?

The awards begin at 9pm on Channel 4 and Channel 4 HD.

The full list of nominations are below:

Best New Comedy Programme
Alan Partridge: Welcome to Places in My Life
Cardinal Burns
Moone Boy

Best Comedy Entertainment Programme
Alan Carr Chatty Man
Celebrity Juice
Harry Hill’s TV Burp
The Graham Norton Show

Best Sketch Show
Cardinal Burns
Horrible Histories
Very Important People

Best Sitcom
The Thick of It
Twenty Twelve

Best Comedy Entertainment Personality
Charlie Brooker, Charlie Brooker’s 2011 Wipe
Graham Norton, The Graham Norton Show
Harry Hill, Harry Hill’s TV Burp
Stephen Fry, QI

Best TV Comedy Actor
Hugh Bonneville, Twenty Twelve
Peter Capaldi, The Thick of It
Steve Coogan, Alan Partridge: Welcome to the Places of My Life
Tom Hollander, Rev

Best TV Comedy Actress
Jessica Hynes, Twenty Twelve
Olivia Colman, Rev
Olivia Colman, Twenty Twelve
Rebecca Front, The Thick of It

Best Comedy Breakthrough Artist
David Rawle Moone Boy
Morgana Robinson Very Important People
Nina Conti Make Me Happy: A Monkey’s Search for Enlightenment
Seb Cardinal & Dustin Demri-Burns Cardinal Burns

Best Male Television Comic
David Mitchell, Would I Lie to You
Harry Hill, Harry Hill’s TV Burp
Lee Mack, Would I Lie to You
Sean Lock, 8 Out of 10 Cats

Best Female Television Comic
Jo Brand, Have I Got News For You
Nina Conti, Make Me Happy: A Monkey’s Search for Enlightenment
Sarah Millican, The Sarah Millican Television Programme
Sue Perkins, Have I Got News For You

King & Queen (voted by the public)
Alan Carr
David Mitchell
Graham Norton
Jack Whitehall
Lee Mack
Sarah Millican

And Vic Reeves and Bob Mortimer will be awarded The Writer’s Guild of Great Britain Award.