BRIT Awards 2016 winners – Adele sweeps the board; tributes to David Bowie

BRIT Awards 2016 winners – Adele sweeps the board; tributes to David Bowie

Global Superstar Adele continued her incredible year by sweeping the board at The BRIT Awards 2016.

The British singer collected four awards in total, for British Female Solo Artist, British Single, BRITs Global Success Award – the first BRIT to be present-ed from space, with astronaut Tim Peake sending a special video message from the International Space Station – and the highly coveted MasterCard British Album of the Year; the most award wins for an individual act since Blur took four awards home in 1995. Adele closed the show with a spell-binding rendition of ‘When We Were Young’ from her record breaking new album ’25’.

A highly anticipated tribute to music legend David Bowie created one of the most talked about moments of the show. Bowie was posthumously honoured with the BRITs Icon Award, presented by Annie Lennox to Gary Oldman, who gave a moving speech in tribute to his friend.

The presentation was followed by an emotional and poignant performance from Bowie’s touring band from the past two decades, incorporating some of Bowie’s biggest hits such as ‘Rebel Rebel’, ‘Fame’ and ‘Under Pressure’, with a special guest appearance by Lorde for ‘Life on Mars’.

The winners are:

British Male Solo Artist – JAMES BAY (presented by Kylie Minogue)

British Group – COLDPLAY (presented by Simon Pegg)

International Female Solo Artist – BJÖRK (presented by Craig David and Fleur East)

British Female Artist – ADELE (Presented by Liam and Louis One Direction)

BRITs Global Success Award (Identified by the global success of British acts of their latest project/album. Sales achieved in the period 1 January 2015-31 December 2015) – ADELE (Presented by Tim Peake)

International Male Solo Artist – JUSTIN BIEBER (presented by Major Lazer)

British Single (Top ten British singles based on overall sales success in the calendar year are automatically nominated. Supported by Capital FM and Google Play) – ADELE ‘HELLO’ (presented by Simon Le Bon and Suki Waterhouse)

International Group – TAME IMPALA (presented by Henry Cavill and Jourdan Dunn)

British Breakthrough Act (Top 5 selected by Voting Academy. Winner identified by public vote promoted by and BBC Radio 1) – CATFISH AND THE BOTTLEMEN (presented by Nick Grimshaw and Cheryl)

British Artist Video of the Year (Top 10 identified by YouTube views. Public vote online to identify shortlist of 5. Winner identified during live social vote during the show) – ONE DIRECTION (Presented by Alan Carr and Lianne La Havas)

MasterCard British Album of The Year (supported by The Sun Bizarre column) – ADELE ’25’ (presented by Mark Ronson)

Critics’ Choice – JACK GARRATT (Already presented at BRITs launch)

British Producer Of The Year – CHARLIE ANDREW (presented previously at The MPG Awards)

Posted on Sunday 28 February 2016
Eamonn Holmes and Ruth Langsford dropped from This Morning?

Eamonn Holmes and Ruth Langsford have been dropped from This Morning, according to newspaper reports. The Daily Mirror is reporting the pair will be replaced by Alison Hammond and Dermot O’Leary. Eamonn and Ruth, who have presented the Friday show… Read more

I’m A Celebrity… Get Me Out Of Here 2020 will take place at Gwrych Castle in north Wales

ITV has announced that the 2020 series of I’m A Celebrity… Get Me Out Of Here! will take place at a castle in north Wales. The broadcaster had previously revealed that the show would be taking place in the UK… Read more

I’m A Celebrity 2019: Confirmed contestants for this year?

I’M A Celebrity… Get Me Out Here! will be back on ITV in a week’s time for series 19. The rumoured line up, according to the Sun, is as follows: Adele Roberts – Former Big Brother 3 star and currently… Read more