General Election 2019: The Results – Live TV Coverage on BBC, ITV, Sky News & Channel 4

General Election  The ITV Debate Johnson v Corbyn Presentation

The polls are open in the 2019 General Election and will close at 10pm tonight, when the results of the exit poll will be revealed.

The broadcasters’ exit poll for the BBC, ITV News, and Sky News will offer the first dramatic snapshot of the results at 10pm before the results come in throughout the evening and into the following day.

Channel 4 will host ‘alternative election coverage’.

BBC One / BBC News Channel

Huw Edwards will be the lead presenter for the BBC’s election night coverage, which starts at 9.55pm on BBC One and BBC News Channel.

He will front ‘BBC Election 2019’, alongside Reeta Chakrabarti, Andrew Neil, Tina Daheley and Jeremy Vine with his swingometer.

The 2019 election programme team will include BBC experts including Political Editor Laura Kuenssberg, Europe Editor Katya Adler, Economics Editor Faisal Islam, and Media Editor Amol Rajan, alongside Professor Sir John Curtice.

BBC presenters in key constituency locations, including Naga Munchetty, Andrew Marr, Martha Kearney, Nick Robinson and Lucy Manning will bring news and results from across the UK throughout the night.

Sarah Smith and Kirsty Wark will broadcast live from Scotland.

Sophie Raworth will analyse the results as they come in on a giant constituency map of the UK.

ITV News

Tom Bradby will be the lead presenter of Election 2019 Live: The Results from 9.55pm and will be accompanied once again in the studio by Ed Balls and George Osborne.

Political Editor Robert Peston and National Editor Allegra Stratton, aided by a journalist at every count around the UK, will provide breaking news and informed analysis.

Nina Hossain will be on hand as ITV opens its Election Newsroom – with ‘Peston’ co-presenter Anushka Asthana, and her touchscreen from the programme – to take viewers behind the scenes.

Renowned psephologists Jane Green and Colin Rallings will also return to spot the trends before anyone else and interrogate the results of the joint UK broadcasters’ Exit Poll.

Sky News

Former House of Commons Speaker John Bercow will join host Dermot Murnaghan on Sky News from 9pm.

Sky News political editor Beth Rigby will be on hand to provide her observations and expert analysis, while deputy political editor Sam Coates will give a seat-by-seat view.

Economics editor Ed Conway will use the very latest graphics to show viewers the story in the clearest and most concise way.

Presenter Anna Botting will be with Prime Minister Boris Johnson, Sophy Ridge will be with Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn, Niall Paterson with Lib Dem leader Jo Swinson, while Gillian Joseph in Newcastle and Sarah-Jane Mee in Sunderland will vie for the honour of the first constituency to declare a result.

Political correspondent Lewis Goodall and technology correspondent Rowland Manthorpe will front a programme aimed at a younger, more diverse audience, streamed live across Sky News’ digital platforms, including Facebook, Twitter, Twitch and YouTube.

Channel 4

Channel 4 is hosting a live eight-hour Alternative Election Night show from 9.55pm.

Hosted by Krishnan Guru-Murthy and Katherine Ryan along with Rylan Clark-Neal, who will be sense-checking results, an eclectic mix of the country’s biggest political figures and sharpest comedic talent will be in the studio to tell the dramatic story as it unfolds.

In the studio will be exclusive heavyweight political guests including ex-Home Secretary Amber Rudd and former Labour Deputy Leader Tom Watson, who will give their take on developments.

Joining the political bigwigs will be a host comedians including: Jimmy Carr, Nish Kumar, Henning Wehn, Geoff Norcott, Sophie Willan and Tez Ilyas. Plus Lee & Dean; Derry Girls actress Nicola Coughlan; star of Ru Paul’s Drag Race, UK Baga Chipz; winner of The Circle, Tim and Gogglebox’s Tapper family.

Clare Balding will have the results as they happen, Matt Forde will run the Alternative News Desk and Rob Rinder will be out-and-about assessing the mood on the ground.

Channel 4 News Political Editor Gary Gibbon will have all the breaking news and detailed analysis. And a team of correspondents will be stationed at the most important counts to assess exactly what’s going on up and down the country.

Included from Channel 4 News will be Andy Davies, Clare Fallon, Ciaran Jenkins, Victoria MacDonald, Fatima Manji, Darshna Soni and Alex Thomson.

General Election 2019 will also be streamed live online via the BBC iPlayer, ITV Hub and Sky News

Posted by Johnnie Larkin on Thursday 12 December 2019
Matt Barbet

Matt Barbet is joining Sky News as a regular presenter. He has hosted news programmes for ITV, the BBC and

Electoral Dysfunction Beth Rigby Jess Phillips Ruth Davidson Sky News

Beth Rigby, Jess Phillips and Ruth Davidson will team up for Electoral Dysfunction, a new political podcast from Sky News.

The World with Yalda Hakim

Sky News’ new foreign affairs programme The World will launch on Monday 22nd January 2024. The programme will be fronted