X Factor 2011 Final Results: Little Mix Win

Little Mix have won the X Factor 2011, beating Marcus Collins into second place.

The all-female quartet made X Factor history by becoming the first group ever to win the show.

After the girls and Marcus performed three songs each and Coldplay performed, it was time for the final results.

When Host Dermot O’Leary read out their names, they hugged runner-up Marcus and celebrated with their mentor Tulisa Contostavlos.

Jade said: “We’re so thankful to everybody who voted and for all the X Factor team, we are so grateful.”

Jesy added: “This is never gonna sink in, seriously, we cannot thank the public enough for picking up the phone and voting.”

Earlier in the night, Little Mix performed a rendition of En Vogue’s Don’t Let Go, a song they performed earlier in the competition. They also sang Silent Night and their version of the winner’s single Cannonball.

Jesy Nelson, Perrie Edwards, Leigh-Anne Pinnock and Jade Thirlwall all entered The X Factor as solo artists. They were given a second chance at the final stage of Bootcamp when the judges decided to put them into groups. The groups they were put into didn’t work out for the judges, and the girls were given a further chance at the end of Bootcamp when they were put into a group together and Rhythmix was formed.

Following a dispute with the Rhythmix charity over the use of the name, the girls renamed the group Little Mix.

Congratulations to Little Mix…

Over on the Xtra Factor, it was time to open the envelopes and reveal who the judges and presenters thought would win the competition back at the Boot Camp stage.

Gary said Frankie, Kelly and Dermot said Janet, Tulisa thought Nu Vibe would win, Olly went for Misha B, Caroline said Craig and Louis said it would be a Janet and Frankie final..

Updated: Sunday 11 December 2011
Matt Edmondson ITV Xtra Factor Host

Matt Edmondson has been named the new host of The Xtra Factor. The Radio 1 DJ and television host will front the ITV2 show, and, in a big change to the spin off show’s format, Xtra will be going live from the very first episode,…

The X Factor 2012

ITV has announced the panel for this year’s X Factor. Rock royalty Sharon Osbourne, pop sensation Nicole Scherzinger and chart maestro Louis Walsh, will sit alongside The X Factor creator and music mogul Simon Cowell on the panel. They will join returning host Dermot O’Leary…

Cheryl Cole Returns to X Factor 2014

Cheryl Cole is to be revealed as one of the judges of X Factor 2014 on Tuesday. According to Dan Wootton from The Sun newspaper, Cheryl has signed a £1.5 million deal to return to the reality TV show later this year. A pal of…